[SiC] Khalil Fong’s Catchy Summer Track, “BB88”

Just dropping into share really quick this new song I just heard today, thanks to a recommendation from the lovely Jennifer M. via FB. I haven’t ever really gotten into Khalil Fong, but his songs always catch my ear whenever I hear them.

He makes very light and coffeehouse-cool kind of songs, which I like more than other stuff I hear coming out from Hong Kong (though to be honest, I’m not a very faithful vigilant – I pretty much stick to what I know, which is Jay Chou). Lots of smooth crooning and catchy beats, just like little hooks tugging at your lobes as the tune wafts by – seriously, that’s the extent of the catchiness.

This song appears to be his new summer track, with lyrics simple enough so that even I can understand most of them. And I appreciate the wordplay with BB88 (88, pronounce “ba ba” in Mandarin, sounds like bye bye and is so used in texting or online conversation, so the title is basically saying “baby bye bye”), which isn’t revolutionary but isn’t saccharine or too out there (as English misappropriations sometimes get – you know what I mean!).

Anyway, definitely a talented songwriter. Hope he continues to add quality stuff into the Mandopop mix.

Posted on July 12, 2012, in cpop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

